Tánaiste announces details of Statutory Sick Pay Scheme

The Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment, Leo Varadkar TD, yesterday announced further details of his new law to give all workers the right to paid sick leave.

The Government’s statutory sick pay scheme will be phased in over a four-year period, starting with three days per year in 2022, rising to five days payable in 2023 and seven days payable in 2024. Employers will eventually cover the cost of 10 sick days per year in 2025. It’s being phased in to help employers, particularly small businesses, to plan ahead and manage the additional cost, which has been capped.

Read the full article here.